SOUTHERN COUNCIL OF OPTOMETRISTS, INC.

ACTIONS TAKEN BY VOTES OF THE HOUSE OF DELEGATES PRESENT AT THE 65th ANNUAL MEETING

Atlanta, Georgia March 4, 2023

DRAFT MINUTES

Christine Cook, O.D., President **Presiding:**

I. CALL TO ORDER

The President, Dr. Christine Cook, called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. on Saturday, March 4th.

II. STATEMENT OF QUORUM

Dr. Dave Rouse, the Secretary, called the role and declared a quorum:

States Present

Alabama

Arkansas

Florida

Georgia

Kentucky

Louisiana

Mississippi

North Carolina

Oklahoma

South Carolina

Tennessee

Virginia

West Virginia

III. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION OF SPECIAL GUESTS

Dr. Cook welcomed the participants to the 65th annual meeting and appointed Dr. Joel Byars as Parliamentarian. The Southern Council of Optometrists' Officers, Board of Trustees, and Past Presidents were acknowledged. Dr. Cook then thanked and acknowledged the SECO volunteers and staff.

Dr. Cook then recognized our industry partners for their contribution to our organization.

Dr. Cook then introduced the following:

- American Optometric Association Board of Trustees
- Armed Forces Optometric Society
- National Academy of Opticianry
- American Association of Corporate Optometrists
- College of Optometrists in Vision Development
- Scleral Lens Society
- Association of Optometrists, United Kingdom

- Trinidad & Tobago Optometrists Association
- Federación Colombiana de Optómetras (Fedopto), Colombia
- World Council of Optometry
- Colegio de Optometristas de Costa Rica
- South African Optometric Association

The deans and presidents of optometry colleges/schools at:

- NOVA Southeastern University
- Southern College of Optometry
- University at Alabama Birmingham School of Optometry
- Kentucky College of Optometry University of Pikeville
- Northeastern State University, Oklahoma College of Optometry

IV. MOMENT OF SILENCE

Dr. Horace Deal, Vice President, led the house in a moment of silence for departed colleagues from the member states of the Southern Council of Optometrists. The list of names of the departed was entered into the permanent records of the association.

V. ADOPTION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

Dr. Dave Rouse drew the attention of the House of Delegates to the draft minutes of the 2022 House of Delegates meeting and requested modifications from the floor. There being none, the House moved:

MOTION 2023-03-01-HoD: MSC That the minutes of the previous House of Delegates meeting be adopted as presented.

VI. TREASURER'S REPORT

Dr. Tim Barry reviewed the total liabilities and net assets as well as our financial position and noted the information is also included in the annual report.

VII. AOA UPDATE

The American Optometric Association President, Dr. Ronald Benner, provided a brief update.

VIII. ANNUAL REPORT

Dr. Christine Cook informed the group that the SECO Annual Report, inclusive of all SECO reports, is available for download.

IX. PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

Dr. Christine Cook introduced Dr. Emilio Balius, Chair of the Awards & Resolutions Committee. Dr. Balius announced his committee members - Dr. Max Ernst from Kentucky and Dr. Max Raynor from North Carolina.

Dr. Ernst presented the Paraoptometric of the South award to Mrs. Anne Granger, CPO of Louisiana. Dr. Emilio Balius presented the Young OD of the South award to Dr. Erika Morrow of Georgia. Dr. Raynor then presented the Optometrist of the South award to Dr. William Reynolds of Kentucky. Dr. Balius then presented the Distinguished Service

Award to Dr. Rosalind Overton-Smith of South Carolina and recognized all past award winners.

X. PRESIDENT'S AWARD & DISTINGUISHED SERVICE

Dr. Cook then bestowed the President's Award to Dr. Max Raynor of North Carolina for his perseverance in support of our profession and commitment to our mission and the President's Distinguished Service Award to Mr. Bo Kenney of Georgia.

XI. NEW BUSINESS

There was no new business to discuss.

XII. NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

Dr. Cook then requested that Dr. Richard Durocher present the Nominating Committee's report.

Dr. Durocher, Immediate Past President and Chair of the Nominating Committee, presented the proposed slate of officers for 2023-2024:

President Dr. Michelle Cooper
President-Elect Dr. Horace Deal
Vice President Dr. Tim Barry
Treasurer Dr. David Rouse
Secretary Dr. Matt Burchett
Immediate Past President Dr. Christine Cook

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Dr. Durocher asked for further nominations from the floor and, after receiving none, requested the House to move to adopt the slate of officers. The House moved:

MOTION 2023-03-02-HoD: MSC <u>That the slate of officers proposed by the Nominating Committee for the 2023-2024 administrative year be accepted as presented.</u>

Thereupon, Dr. Durocher called for a voice vote of the House on the election of the Executive Committee of the Southern Council of Optometrists and received a unanimous vote. As the outgoing Immediate Past President, Dr. Durocher was escorted from the stage by the Tennessee delegation.

XIII. PRESIDENT'S REPORT AND OUTGOING REMARKS

As outgoing President, Dr. Christine Cook gave brief final remarks.

XIV. INSTALLATION OF OFFICERS

Dr. Barbara Horn, Past President of the American Optometric Association, then installed the Officers.

XV. PASSING OF THE GAVEL

Past Presidents of the Council gathered to participate in the Passing of the Gavel ceremony to mark the investiture of the newly elected President, Dr. Michelle Cooper.

Dr. Cooper presented a plaque to Dr. Cook in honor of her year as President and the many years of service to the Southern Council of Optometrists and SECO International.

XVI. REMARKS FROM INCOMING PRESIDENT

Dr. Michelle Cooper, Incoming President, addressed the House of Delegates.

XVII. GOOD and WELFARE

- Dr. Mary Beth Morris of Kentucky announces Dr. Carolyn Munson is running for the AOA Trustee position and invites everyone to the reception in honor of Dr. Bill Reynolds as OD of South.
- Dr. Staci Moore of Mississippi announces Dr. Steven Reed is running for AOA President-Elect at this year's Optometry's Meeting in Washington, D.C.
- Dr. Neil Draisin of South Carolina announces Dr. Lori Roberts Hauser is running for SECO Secretary in 2026.
- Dr. Jonathan Shrewsbury of Kentucky supports and announces Dr. Brad Lane for SECO Secretary in 2024.
- Dr. Mark Marciano of Florida announces Dr. Tad Kosanovich is running for AOA Board of Trustees and invites everyone to the FOA Annual Meeting, July 20-23 of this year.
- Dr. Trish Walker of Tennessee introduced their new Executive Director, Patience Long, who announced Dr. Trish Walker is running for SECO Secretary in 2025.

XVIII. ADJOURN

There being no further business before the House, Dr. Michelle Cooper adjourned the meeting *sine die* at 5:15 p.m. on Saturday, March 4th, 2023.

SUMMARY OF MOTIONS ADOPTED

MOTION 2023-03-01-HoD: MSC That the minutes of the previous House of Delegates meeting be adopted as presented.

MOTION 2023-03-02-HoD: MSC <u>That the slate of officers proposed by the Nominating Committee for the 2022-2023 administrative year be accepted as presented.</u>