# SOUTHERN COUNCIL OF OPTOMETRISTS, INC.

# ACTIONS TAKEN BY VOTES OF THE HOUSE OF DELEGATES PRESENT AT THE 63rd ANNUAL MEETING

Atlanta, Georgia May 1, 2021

# **DRAFT MINUTES**

**Presiding:** Max Raynor, O.D., President

#### **CALL TO ORDER** I.

The President, Dr. Max Raynor, called the meeting to order at 3:45 p.m. on Saturday, May 1, 2021.

#### II. STATEMENT OF QUORUM

Dr. Horace Deal, the Secretary, called the role and declared a quorum:

# **States Present**

Alabama

Arkansas

Florida

Georgia

Kentucky

Louisiana

Mississippi

North Carolina

Oklahoma

South Carolina

Tennessee

Virginia

West Virginia

#### III. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION OF SPECIAL GUESTS

Dr. Raynor welcomed the participants to the 63<sup>rd</sup> annual meeting and appointed Dr. Joel Byars as Parliamentarian. The Southern Council of Optometrists' Officers, Board of Trustees, and Past Presidents were acknowledged. Dr. Raynor then thanked and acknowledged the SECO volunteers and staff.

Dr. Raynor then introduced the following industry partners:

- Alcon (Title Partner)
- Novartis
- Allergan
- Johnson & Johnson
- Bausch & Lomb
- Essilor
- CooperVision
- Regeneron
- Luxottica

Dr. Raynor then introduced the following:

- American Optometric Association Board of Trustees
- Armed Forces Optometric Society
- American Association of Corporate Optometrists
- College of Optometrists in Vision Development
- Scleral Lens Society
- Association of Optometrists, United Kingdom
- Trinidad & Tobago Optometrists Association
- Federación Colombiana de Optómetras (Fedopto), Colombia
- World Council of Optometry
- Colegio de Optometristas de Costa Rica
- South African Optometric Association

The deans and presidents of optometry colleges/schools at:

- NOVA Southeastern University
- Southern College of Optometry
- University at Alabama Birmingham School of Optometry
- Kentucky College of Optometry University of Pikeville
- Northeastern State University, Oklahoma College of Optometry

### IV. MOMENT OF SILENCE

Dr. Christine Cook, Vice President, led the house in a moment of silence for departed colleagues from the member states of the Southern Council of Optometrists. The list of names of the departed was entered into the permanent records of the association.

# V. ADOPTION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

Dr. Horace Deal drew the attention of the House of Delegates to the draft minutes of the 2020 House of Delegates meeting and requested modifications from the floor. There being none, the House moved:

MOTION 2021-05-01-HoD: MSC That the minutes of the previous House of Delegates meeting be adopted as presented.

# VI. TREASURER'S REPORT

Dr. Michelle Cooper reviewed the total liabilities and net assets as well as our financial position and noted the information is also included in the annual report.

### VII. AOA UPDATE

The American Optometric Association President, Dr. William Reynolds, provided a brief update.

### VIII. ANNUAL REPORT

Dr. Max Raynor informed the group that the SECO Annual Report, inclusive of all SECO reports, is available for download.

#### IX. PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

Dr. Max Raynor introduced Dr. Ted McElroy, Chair of the Awards & Resolutions Committee. Dr. McElroy announced his committee members - Dr. Emilio Balius from Florida and Dr. Lynn Hammonds from Alabama.

Dr. McElroy presented the Paraoptometric of the South award to Mrs. Caydie George of Mississippi. Dr. Lynn Hammonds presented the Young OD of the South award to Dr. Lauren Stirling of Louisiana. Dr. McElroy then presented the Optometrist of the South award to Dr. James Sandefur of Louisiana.

### X. PRESIDENT'S AWARD & SPECIAL RECOGNITION

Dr. Raynor then bestowed the President's Award to Dr. Andy Cook of North Carolina for his perseverance in support of our profession and commitment to our mission.

#### XI. NEW BUSINESS

There was no new business to discuss.

### XII. NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

Dr. Raynor then requested that Dr. Max Ernst present the Nominating Committee's report.

Dr. Ernst, Immediate Past President and Chair of the Nominating Committee, presented the proposed slate of officers for 2021-2022:

President Dr. Richard Durocher
President-Elect Dr. Christine Cook
Vice President Dr. Michelle Cooper
Treasurer Dr. Horace Deal
Secretary Dr. Tim Barry
Immediate Past President Dr. Max Raynor

### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Dr. Ernst asked for further nominations from the floor and, after receiving none, requested the House to move to adopt the slate of officers. The House moved:

**MOTION 2021-05-02-HoD:** MSC <u>That the slate of officers proposed by the Nominating Committee for the 2021-2022 administrative year be accepted as presented.</u>

Thereupon, Dr. Ernst called for a voice vote of the House on the election of the Executive Committee of the Southern Council of Optometrists and received a unanimous vote. As the outgoing Immediate Past President, Dr. Ernst was escorted from the stage by the Kentucky delegation.

# XIII. PRESIDENT'S REPORT AND OUTGOING REMARKS

As outgoing President, Dr. Max Raynor gave brief final remarks.

#### XIV. INSTALLATION OF OFFICERS

Dr. William Reynolds, President American Optometric Association, then installed the Officers.

#### XV. PASSING OF THE GAVEL

Past Presidents of the Council gathered to participate in the Passing of the Gavel ceremony to mark the investiture of the newly elected President, Dr. Richard Durocher.

Dr. Durocher presented a plaque to Dr. Raynor in honor of his year as President and the many years of service to the Southern Council of Optometrist and SECO International, LLC.

#### XVI. REMARKS FROM INCOMING PRESIDENT

Dr. Richard Durocher, Incoming President, addressed the House of Delegates.

### XVII. GOOD and WELFARE

- Dr. Matt Burchett (KY) was announced as a candidate for SECO Secretary 2023.
- Dr. Steven Reed (MS) was announced as a candidate for AOA Secretary/Treasurer at the AOA meeting in Denver.
- Dr. David Rouse (FL) was announced as a candidate for SECO Secretary in 2022.
- Dr. Mike Haines (NC) was announced as a candidate for SECO Secretary in 2027.
- Dr. Brad Lane (WV) was announced as a candidate for SECO Secretary in 2024.
- Dr. James Sandefur (LA) was congratulated for his official retirement, and Dr. Rob Janot was announced as the new Executive Director of the OAL.
- Dr. Lori Grover (KY) was announced for the re-election of AOA Board of Trustees 2022 in Chicago.
- Dr. Rob Janot (LA) announced and invited the group to a reception following the House of Delegates in honor of Dr. James Sandefur's retirement.
- Dr. Lori Roberts Hauser (SC) was announced as candidate SECO Secretary in 2026.
- Dr. Rob Benner (MT) will be running for AOA Vice President at the AOA/AOSA 2021 meeting.
- Dr. Jackie Bowen (CO) was announced for re-election as AOA Trustee in Denver.
- Dr. Patricia Walker (TN) was announced as a candidate for SECO Secretary in 2025.
- Dr. Teri Geist (NE) was announced for re-election as AOA Trustee in Denver.

- Dr. Belinda Starkey (AR) was announced as a candidate for AOA Trustee in Denver.
- Dr. Max Ernst (KY) was thanked for his service as a Past President of SECO, and Dr. Bill Reynolds (KY) was thanked for a great year as AOA President proceeding with a standing ovation.

### XVIII. ADJOURN

There being no further business before the House, Dr. Richard Durocher adjourned the meeting *sine die*, at 5:15 p.m. on Saturday, May 1, 2021.

### SUMMARY OF MOTIONS ADOPTED

**MOTION 2021-05-01-HoD:** MSC <u>That the minutes of the previous House of Delegates meeting be adopted as presented.</u>

**MOTION 2021-05-02-HoD:** MSC <u>That the slate of officers proposed by the Nominating Committee for the 2021-2022 administrative year be accepted as presented.</u>